Planning Commission


Prepare and recommend to the assembly appropriate policies, plans and ordinances for the implementation of the municipal planning, official map, and zoning functions. Investigate and report on public improvements to the assembly regarding location, design, demolition or disposition of any public building, facility, traffic arterial, parks, greenbelts or playgrounds. Make determinations or recommendations on requests for exceptions to FNSBC Title 18.


Meetings are scheduled on the second and fourth Tuesday every month. This information will be routinely updated to reflect any upcoming meetings. 

The next Planning Commission work session and meeting are Tuesday, February 8, 2022 at 6:00 p.m. Alaska at or hosted from the Mona Lisa Drexler Assembly Chambers, 907 Terminal Street, Fairbanks. (Agenda; Agenda Packet)

  • Launch Zoom Webinar
  • Webinar ID: 160 563 8296
  • Passcode: 154154
  • Telephone: 646-828-7666 or 833-568-8864 (Toll Free)

View Past Planning Commission Meeting Information

Additional Information

If you have questions regarding the Planning Commission, contact the Clerk's Office by phone at (907) 459-1401 or email the Clerk's Office


Members shall be a qualified voter of the borough and remain a resident of the borough while in office. If you are interested in serving on the Planning Commission, submit a completed Board or Commission Application Form (PDF)

Commissioner Contact Information Term Expiration
Seat A
City of North Pole
Seat B

Shane Koester, Vice-Chair
Seat C
City of Fairbanks
(575) 749-3965 12/22
Doug Sims
Seat D
City of Fairbanks
(907) 978-0331 12/23
Kerynn Fisher, Chair
Seat E
(907) 479-0559 12/23
Kevin McKinley
Seat F
(907) 351-9886 12/24
Eric Muehling
Seat G
(907) 378-5545 12/22
Sandra Mota
Seat H
(907) 888-4924 12/23
Chris Guinn
Seat I
(907) 322-0707 12/23
Jason McComas-Roe
Seat J
City of Fairbanks
(907) 388-7112 12/22
Seat K

Ex-Officio Members Affiliation
Mayor Ward FNSB Mayor
Kellen Spillman FNSB Community Planning
David Bredlie FNSB Engineer